Reviews For Liquid Library

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Ghostlymagic (Signed)
03/07/09 - 09:18 pm

Well written. I swear I shivered at the end. I like the way the story evolves with twists and turns, walling you in.

 

9.5/10




Liquid Library
Reviewer: apollo13 (Signed)
31/07/07 - 10:24 am

Wow, this was amazing! I loved the line - It's only heroine for the nerdy. That was genius! This entire fic was genius!

You really managed to create an eerie, creepy atmosphere, and Ana seems like a very dynamic and real character. :)

~Evie




Liquid Library
Reviewer: LadyMortis (Signed)
28/03/07 - 08:07 pm

That was excellent. I don't really know how to analyze such an amazing piece so I'll leave it at it was excellent




Liquid Library
Reviewer: Lady Apostrophe (Signed)
03/02/07 - 11:01 pm

Woah! I mean, woah!

This was absolutely--marvelous? Spectacular? Genius? I don't even know how to describe it. Horror isn't my preferred genre, but I decided to read this because of all the reviews, no matter how bad that sounds. Anyway, the point is that you got me hooked. It was...brilliant is all I can think of. I've never read anything like it...it's so original and creative, and you write it so beautifully. Your narrative style is great--simple, yet very expressive. I love your choice of words!

"Curiously uncurious expressions" is my favorite line. :P

Great job!




Liquid Library
Reviewer: pianochic1703 (Signed)
03/02/07 - 02:22 pm
Woah. This is sooo cool. Liquid books. What a concept. Wonderfully written!


Liquid Library
Reviewer: Mariana (Signed)
02/02/07 - 01:17 am
Oh, that last paragraph just gives me the creeps!!  Very nicely done, creating an eerie and foreboding setting.  I think horror is most effective when the reader can picture herself falling into the same predicament, and who wouldn't love to go to a library where you can drink books?  Overall, the descriptions and action were great.  There was just one line that felt off to me:  Her eyelids flew up and a cool rage found itself struggling to explode out her chest.  I thought "cool" sounded too laid-back and easygoing for a rage that struggles to explode out of one's chest.  But I love all the little touches, like her not walking on cracks, feeling like she was answering incorrectly, and the way that even though she was more afraid than curious, the curiosity still factored in as she ran.  Things like that make it feel real.  Nice job!


Liquid Library
Reviewer: pixichik118 (Signed)
01/02/07 - 11:14 pm

Wow, I can't believe it's over already! I love that it was so clear, and tragic! It's just awesome, and makes you think. Great job!




Liquid Library
Reviewer: belle (Signed)
01/02/07 - 10:53 pm

Oh my goodness. I don't read much horror, but when I do, I seem to love it.

 One of my biggest fears is being trapped somewhere, so this story was utterly terrifying for me. The premise of the liquid books is very original and intriguing, and how you can get high on them is such an incredible idea. If someone could drink many of them at once, mixed perhaps, I can see how that could be possible.

 The nurse, for me, was the creepiest part. I always get creeped out by the last sentece, and yours was satistyingly creepy. She starts Ana off into her doomed life of getting high off books, being tested to see how much brain she can use - with Pride and Prejudice.

 I loved it. What a great way to start off your site!

-Jenn




Liquid Library
Reviewer: suya (Signed)
01/02/07 - 10:47 pm

I thought it was fantastic. I thought your main character was dynamic and developed well, even in this short piece.

The plot was very creative; it touches on our more primal fears of secrets and conpriracies but with a horrifying twist dealing with knowledge, how we learn and our capacity for knowledge.

The only quibbly thing I noticed was that the beginning was a bit rushed. I think your character's unhappiness could have been fleshed out a bit more, but it doesn't take away from the story.

And I have to mention that my favourite line was, "It's only heroin for the nerdy." I thought that was brilliant.

Overall, a great story from a great author.  

 

 

 




Liquid Library
Reviewer: somberballad (Signed)
01/02/07 - 09:48 pm

Are you serious Lex? This is incredible! What a completely original idea, oh it is so good! I almost wanted to visit this place and not visit this at the same time. What a wonderful plot, this really belongs a book.

Isn't that like every reader's dream? To have time to "read" books, but we never consider the side effects of being able to do that! It's simply chilling!

I rather like the boy she encounters in the library, I think it is because I liked well read young men...only maybe not from this library.

The only thing that even made me pause for a minute was as to why she would go into a building where you have to answer questions by creepy doctor people to get it, but at the same time, you don't have a story if your character doesn't do something out of the ordinary.

This is story is honestly amazing! And words cannot describe how much I love you for making this site, you're a genius!




Liquid Library
Reviewer: Oracle (Anonymous)
01/02/07 - 09:19 pm

This story was...haunting, in a way, and utterly horrifying in another way.  Death by too much information...secret experiments on non-consenting humans...can our brains be subjected to too much?

A wonderful debut, Naga!  I really enjoyed it. 




Liquid Library
Reviewer: Locke (Anonymous)
01/02/07 - 09:01 pm

I truly find this intriguing, please do continue.  

 




Liquid Library
You must login (register) to review.