Reviews For The Refiner's Fire

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Aaran St Vines (Signed)
09/14/2005 01:47 pm
Ch.27 - - An excellent aftermath scenario.

Author's Response:

Thanks!

Abraxan




Aftermath – and Beginnings
Reviewer: Aaran St Vines (Signed)
09/14/2005 12:47 pm
Ch.26 - - This was a great battle scene, and I know about battle scenes. Just terrrific. Harry's misgivings about having killed - genuine and heart-wrenching. I loved this passage. Both wonderful and hysterical, and purely 110% Ron Weasley: "Look around us. Most of these blokes we got? You did that, not the rest of us. And going over that cliff after Ginny – stories will be written about that rescue for years to come, I guarantee it.” Ron looked quite serious. “You’re like a storybook hero come to life. Unbelievable – but everything anyone’s ever said about you, your powers, all that? It’s all true. None of us have ever seen you fight You-Know – oh, bloody hell, Voldemort – before. Incredible. A film of what happened here today would make those adventure films we saw over the holidays look like picnics in the park.” Harry was silent for a moment. He didn’t know how to take this. “You’re kidding, right?” he said, hoping Ron wasn’t going all weird and fan-like towards him. Harry’s just been through hell and looks like it, too. It’s time to remind him how to laugh, Ron thought, then hit on a strategy. “Nope. I can see it – ‘Harry Potter, The Musical.’

Author's Response:

I loved that scene - it really was Ron, wasn't it?  Glad you liked that and the battle scene as well!!  How do you know about battle scenes?  Have you been in the military?  I've been AROUND the military or veterans all my life, so I guess hearing about battle strategies and the aftermath of battles just rubbed off on me or something.  Glald you liked it!

Abraxan




Rescue
Reviewer: Aaran St Vines (Signed)
09/14/2005 12:11 pm
Ch.25 - - Harry with an earring and a beard - piratical. Fascinating scenario getting the boys into a battle far from home. Excellent idea - well fleshed out. "Ginny opened a window and stood on the ledge, her broom between her knees. “Sorry, Mum, but I have to do this,” - a worthy girlfriend for Harry Potter.

Author's Response:

Yes, she is!  So what was JKR thinking about when she had Ginny give Harry up so easily at the end of HBP?!  ARGH!  Glad you liked this!  I kind of like piratical Harry too, although I'm not into earrings and little beards - but kids today are, so I thought it would be appropriate.

Abraxan




Baying at the Moon
Reviewer: Aaran St Vines (Signed)
09/14/2005 11:22 am
Ch.24 - - This was a very complex and compelling episode - so very well concieved and executed. I feel better now that it's over. I'm of a mixed mind about Snape - I either want him to be right with Harry, or dead. - I'm so merciful. Thsi bit of writing was wonderful: "“Next time you say you’re ‘fine’ when I suspect you may not be, you won’t get off so lightly, young man.” He smiled fondly at Harry. “I wish I’d known so we could get you treated sooner.” “It isn’t your fault,” Harry said ruefully. “I’m a bit stubborn, in case you hadn’t noticed.” “I did notice that, yes,” Remus replied with a chuckle."

Author's Response:

Glad you liked it!  And thanks for reminding me about that scene - it's been ages since I read it!  It does sound like a concerned parent, doesn't it?  LOL!  Good ol' Remus!  Gotta love him!  Thanks for writing!

Abraxan




Black Widow
Reviewer: Aaran St Vines (Signed)
09/14/2005 10:30 am
Ch.23 - - The Hermione part is killing me. Say it ain't so! But I'm really glad he told Ginny. If she'd found out nay other way........ BOOM!!! Great memory from Harry's baby time. I cannot imagine what you're going to do with it.

Author's Response:

Glad you liked it!  Thanks for writing!

Abraxan




Betrayal
Reviewer: Aaran St Vines (Signed)
09/14/2005 10:14 am
Ch.22 - - Harry's ability to teach is amazing. His ideas, soft focus, but so much more, are very good. Of course they are your ideas transposed to Harry, so good going and good writing. Oh no, oh no, oh NO! I never saw that coming. (He panics.)

Author's Response:

Harry showed his ability to teach in canon - I just expanded on it.  And the "soft focus" is a useful tool in any kind of sports, but I learned it from a book on horseback riding, as I said in my Author's Notes.  Glad you liked it!

Abraxan




Surprises and Shocks
Reviewer: Aaran St Vines (Signed)
09/14/2005 09:43 am
Ch.21 - - The whole Harry-acting-like-a-new-animagus, and telling the class about it, helping them better understand the transformation process, was very well written and executed. Very believable in context. You write incredible scenes attacking harry with poisons. - just excellent. These are not your typical get-Harry attacks.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you for your lovely review! "Not typical" is one of my goals in my writing! Thanks a lot! Abraxan



Fans and Foes
Reviewer: Aaran St Vines (Signed)
09/14/2005 09:01 am
Ch.20 - - Christmas at the Weasleys - how wonderful, even with the understandable sadnesses.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yup, Christmas at his favorite place in the world other than Hogwarts -- Harry deserves such pleasures. Glad you enjoyed it! Abraxan



Christmas at the Burrow
Reviewer: Aaran St Vines (Signed)
09/14/2005 08:40 am
Fascinating invention of the potions you created to go on the girls.

Author's Response: Thanks - I invented loads of stuff for this story -- that's part of the fun of writing it! :-D I'm glad you liked it! Abraxan



Recovery
Reviewer: Aaran St Vines (Signed)
09/14/2005 06:56 am
Your descriptions of the wounds of the thestral, how they interact with the non-transformed Harry, and the care, and medical treatment of all of this was amazingly well written.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I worked hard to make that as realistic as possible. I'm glad it worked for you! Abraxan



Where do wings go?
You must login (register) to review.