Reviews For The Refiner's Fire

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
04/24/2006 03:08 pm

Nice chapter again. I don't get Harry getting scared of his uncle when he threatened to lock him the cupboard. I thought Harry apologizing was a bit far fetched because he never apologized to the Dursley's unless it was sheer sarcasm

But none the less I loved the chapter

:D 



Author's Response:

Harry doesn't want to get in more trouble, and he knows he's powerful enough to cause a lot of problems.  The majority of the fear is fear of himself and what he can do.  And he's tried HARD to keep the peace this time - he's growing  up and realizes he's STUCK there until he leaves for his last year of Hogwarts, and he has to make the best of it.  He's MATURED - that's one of the reasons for the apology.  Glad you liked it despite your quibble!

Abraxan




Summer Fun and Birthdays
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
04/24/2006 02:50 pm

“Anytime you have an ouchie, you come to me and I’ll take care of it for you, OK?” LOL

Rita Skeeter aka Ruth Spectre. What a brilliant fake name. It was pretty easy to figure since you put a reporter in the story. Working for a muggle newspaper is hysterical. She'd do the tabloid jobs well :P

Great chapter again 

 



Author's Response:

Glad you liked it!  Yeah, I can just see Rita working for a tabloid - she'd fit right in!  Glad you liked the "ouchie" bit too!  LOL!

Abraxan




Beginnings
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
04/24/2006 02:46 pm

I liked Casey a lot. She was a very muggle Ginny and I guess that's why Harry fell for her

I liked the way you employed psychological treatment to help Harry recover from his wounds

Another great chapter 



Author's Response:

Glad you liked Casey!  Yes, she's a lot like Ginny, but not as, um, physically aggressive as Ginny, I guess you could say.  I can't see her getting in an actual fight, but I CAN see Ginny doing it (as the younger sister of six brothers, Ginny's had to learn to handle herself - as the oldest of two well-mannered girls, Casey never had to learn those skills).  Yes, I thought Harry was going through enough psychological torment that it would take some psychological thought to get him well.  Casey explaining the stages of grief to him and helping him through them was an important part of his healing.

Thanks for writing!

Abraxan




Lunch Breaks and Friendship
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
04/24/2006 02:44 pm

Hey I never reviewed this story on your other web pages. So I thought it would do good to put them up here.

I love the chapter. The new Sirius and Doug are really good. I forgot Piers Poilkiss existed  until you had put the chapter up

His father actually turned out to be a bigger jerk than him

 



Author's Response:

Glad you liked it!  Glad you liked the "new" Sirius and Doug too!  As for Piers - the apple didn't fall far from the tree, as they say, as is too often the case!  His dad's a jerk, so Piers is a jerk too!

Thanks for writing!

Abraxan




Of Art and Finances
Reviewer: copi488 (Signed)
04/23/2006 02:01 pm
Great you are here at this site too!! loved this story when I first read it on i belive ff,  I reviewed there too, but this story is too good to not review again!  One of my favs!

Author's Response:

Thanks a lot!  I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Abraxan




The Way Home
Reviewer: jayley (Anonymous)
04/09/2006 09:39 pm

that was really good! are you going to ever post the second story up here, or are you only writing at another site now? newayz, that was a really good fanfiction!!!



Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed it!  I haven't had time to upload it here - you're safer going to the sites where it already exists to read it.  If you go to my Yahoo group (http://groups.yahoo.com/group/HPRefinersFire) you can read not only "The Time of Destiny" but also two ficlets that are "missing scenes" from the epilogue, and some other stuff, including fan-written ficlets based on my stories.  Come join the fun!

 Abraxan




The Way Home
Reviewer: Courtney (Anonymous)
04/01/2006 02:33 pm

Wow! This is one of my favorite stories ever! And I've read LOTS of stories... I'll be sure to read your sequel. I give it a 1000/10!

I loved your ideas and the battle scenes. They were awesome! And you really liked to use poision on Harry, didn't you (or Bellatrix did)? Cool. I liked how Harry was so powerful... Lord Mouldy-shorts better watch out, or he's gonna end up as a giant crater! And I- well, I liked your whole story, basically. Yup. And if I tried to tell you all of the things I liked about your story, then... you would be sitting here for, like, 5 years or something listening to me rambling on. And speaking of rambling... I need to stop. Yes. I do. Now. *ahem*



Author's Response:

LOL!  I don't mind rambling reviews at all!  Thanks for sending me such a fun one!  I'm glad you liked my ideas and battle scenes!  And poison is well-known to be a woman's weapon, so since Bella was the one trying to do Harry in for so many months, poison was the weapon of choice.  If it had been a man, I would have used different methods.  (It's a well-known fact - you can research it - that women who commit suicide use pills or poison, not guns, the vast majority of the time, and that's how they kill other people most of the time too - so they leave a good-looking corpse, I suppose, but who knows??)

 You're right, Moldie needs to watch out for Harry!  And Harry's just going to get more powerful in the sequel, "The Time of Destiny" - you can find it on my Yahoo group (http://groups.yahoo.com/group/HPRefinersFire) or at Fanficauthors.net or at SIYE or FFN or FictionAlley (Schnoogle).  Thanks for writing!

 Abraxan




The Way Home
Reviewer: dancefreak92 (Signed)
03/24/2006 04:16 pm
This was REALLy good. Cant wait for the next one!


Author's Response:

The "next one" ("The Time of Destiny") isn't on this site, but it's complete on my Yahoo group (http://groups.yahoo.com/group/HPRefinersFire) and Fanficauthors.net and Fanfiction.net and Schnoogle (FictionAlley.com) and SIYE.  I just got tired of uploading it so many places.  Glad you enjoyed Refiners!  Hop on over to one of the other sites and read Destiny!  Thanks for writing!

Abraxan




The Way Home
Reviewer: Genari (Anonymous)
03/15/2006 11:53 pm
I love your Harry. Too bad he's..you know...jailbait and...well, not real.


Author's Response:

Yeah, it IS too bad  he's not real - but in England, he's not jail bait - he's of legal age there, and the kids there, according to my Brit-picker, are QUITE active that way (hence the largest unmarried birth rate in Europe, so she told me).  I love my Harry too - he's a great guy, isn't he? :)

 BTW - when I mentioned Time of Destiny before, I forgot to say it just won four out of six possible awards on the hgnetwork.co.uk/siye site (the only ones it didn't win were "best comedy" and "best angst").  Hope you enjoy the rest of Refiner's and drop over to the other groups to read Destiny!  Thanks for writing!

 Abraxan




Summer Fun and Birthdays
Reviewer: Genari (Anonymous)
03/15/2006 11:38 pm
oomph. Rita Skeeter. Ugly (under the skin especially) woman!


Author's Response:

Too true!  LOL!

Abraxan




Beginnings
You must login (register) to review.