Reviews For The Refiner's Fire

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
04/29/2006 02:10 am

very nice chapter. i loved the business deal between Hermione and the optician.

"Altruistic humanitarian" left me in splits. Colin is brilliant

 I usually don't comment on the sad parts of a chapter unless absolutely necessary but it was really well written :-)



Author's Response:

Thanks very much!  And yeah, Colin IS brilliant sometimes, isn't he?  LOL!  Glad you enjoyed the chapter!

Abraxan




Goodbyes
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
04/29/2006 12:40 am

nice session with Harry and Ginny. 'Taking advantage of one another' LOL

Ron has suddenly grown up. It's nice to see that. He's very OOC but he works for me

 



Author's Response:

He's only OOC if you consider HBP - and I wrote both of these bgfore HBP was published.  JKR could easily have had Ron mature the way I did if she'd carried on with him from the way he was in OoP.  That's what I did, took the characters as they were at the end of OoP and "matured" them.  Glad you liked the H/G bit and that Ron "works" for you despite your thinking he's OOC.

Abraxan




Aftermath
Reviewer: Ham (Signed)
04/28/2006 05:54 pm

Hee!

This was such a brilliant chapter! So well done. I was laughing like a loon during the Howler scene. You had written it so descriptively that I could just about see Vernon running around boarding up everything and tearing his moustache apart.



Author's Response:

It was a fun scene to write, too!  LOL!  I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Abraxan




Rita Skeeter Bites Again
Reviewer: Ham (Signed)
04/28/2006 05:16 pm

But I think if two people love each other, they. . .um . . . care more about the other person than themselves. If two people love each other, they want the other person to have the biggest helping of ice cream, the best seat in the theatre, the most comfortable chair.

Wow... what a beautiful way to put it.. I think this is one of the better ways I've seen love explained.

I loved the whole part where Casey finds out about Magic. The three patroni and the fight with the Dementors was really thrilling.

And I was grinning like an idiot as I read the scenes at the Burrow. 

Such a fantastic chapter! 



Author's Response:

That explanation of "true love" is the way I explained it to our children when they were growing up, and the way my husband and I fee about each other, still, after 35 years of marriage.  It really IS the best definition of love, especially if you include the part I may have left out about being willing to give your life for your loved one.  My hubby, when we were first talking about love, told me that was his idea of love, being willing to die for the one you love.  And the way he behaves toward me and toward our children when they're around (they're married adults now and live in other states) fills the rest of the definition.

I'm so glad you enjoyed the chapter!  Thanks a lot for a fun review!

Abraxan




Flyging Gnomes and Broomsticks
Reviewer: Ham (Signed)
04/28/2006 04:30 pm

“Let’s see now, ten years and I don’t know how many hours,”

This line made the chapter for me. It really said so much.

Another truly marvellous chapter.



Author's Response:

Thanks a lot!

Abraxan




Summer Fun and Birthdays
Reviewer: Ham (Signed)
04/28/2006 03:55 pm

Wow... I love this chapter. Especially the part where Dumbledore teaches him that communication spell and the bit about Rita Skeeter.

Such unique ideas and such awesome writing. Great job.



Author's Response:

"Unique ideas and awesome writing"???  COOL!  Thanks a lot!  I really appreciate it!

Abraxan




Beginnings
Reviewer: Ham (Signed)
04/28/2006 02:35 pm

This chapter was full of very strong emotions... very well written..



Author's Response:

Thanks a lot!

Abraxan




Lunch Breaks and Friendship
Reviewer: Ham (Signed)
04/28/2006 01:44 pm

Wonderful first chapter. I really like what direction you are taking this fic.

The OC's seem interesting and I liked how you have written Remus and his role. 

 



Author's Response:

Thanks a lot!  I'm so glad you like Remus - this is the direction I wish JKR had taken him (but I wrote it long before HBP came out).  Glad you like my OC's too!  Thanks for writing!

Abraxan




Of Art and Finances
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
04/25/2006 02:49 pm

Yeah you killed Casey off in this chapter. it was disappointing because I had grown to love her as a character, but expected after Rita's story on Harry's love life.

Poor guy is a wreck

Another excellent chapter 



Author's Response:

Thanks a lot!  Yeah, I got a lot of flak from readers about killing off poor Casey, but I created her to be killed off.  She's been so popular that I'm using her in my original novel, "Star Sons" - and I'm doing my best NOT to kill her off this time!  (But no promises!  LOL!)  Glad you're enjoying the fic!

Abraxan




Flight
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
04/24/2006 03:17 pm

This was one of my favourite chapters in the story. Confessing everything to Cassey was very difficult for Harry and he did so and she took it really well

Ron is so mature in this. He's still thick but has suddenly grown up

 



Author's Response:

Ron NEEDED to grow up.  He'll grow up even more in the sequel to this story, "The Time of Destiny."  Glad you liked the chapter!

Abraxan




Flyging Gnomes and Broomsticks
You must login (register) to review.