Reviews For The Refiner's Fire

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Ham (Signed)
04/30/2006 07:11 pm

I liked the whole concept of the Refiners fire very much... very unique..

Lovely chapter.



Author's Response:

Thanks!  The concept is based on reality - gold really is refined by heat to draw off the dross (impurities).  The process is even mentioned in the Bible, which is where I got the idea, actually. 

Abraxan




The Refiner's Fire
Reviewer: Ham (Signed)
04/30/2006 06:41 pm

that was so sad!

I cant say much more... just that it was very well written..



Author's Response:

*passes a hanky*  Thanks a lot!

Abraxan




Goodbyes
Reviewer: Ham (Signed)
04/30/2006 05:26 pm

This chapter sent out many different signals.. the H/G moments so soon after Casey's death was a bit unnerving...

But the talk with Dumbledore in the end made up for it.. very interesting idea about the glasses.

 



Author's Response:

To HARRY, it's as if five years have passed - his memories are in the Pensieve, remember??  So it's not too soon for him.  Glad you liked the talk with Dumbledore and the glasses (wish *I* had glasses like that!).

Abraxan




Aftermath
Reviewer: Ham (Signed)
04/30/2006 04:56 pm

Oh no!! Casey cant die!!

This was a highly fast paced and thrilling chapter... it kept me interested till the end. I absolutely loved it.

It seemed like it had a bit of everything... feeling so many emotions one after another leaves you feeling dazed by the end...

 



Author's Response:

"you feel dazed by the end" -- and that's good, right??  :-D  Sorry about Casey, but I've had such an outcry from readers about her that I'm using her in my original novel, "Star Sons" and I'm NOT planning on killing her (so far!!!).  ;-)  So she lives again, in another book, with other friends.  Glad you enjoyed the chapter!

 

Abraxan




Flight
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
04/30/2006 01:15 pm

long chapter again.. :-). the intimate moments with Harry and Ginny were really well written.... very aesthetic

I liked the ravens dealing with Malfoy and his goons

the dream was a bit sinister but well written 

 



Author's Response:

Thanks a lot!  I liked the way the ravens dealt with Malfoy & Co. too!   And I could hear Harry laughing about it long afterward. . .heehee.  Glad you enjoyed the chapter!

Abraxan

BTW - I'm going on vacation, so if you don't get a response from me for a while, that's why.  Keep reviewing, I'll respond to them when I get back!




The Raven and The Thestral
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
04/30/2006 12:36 pm

Nice chapter... I felt it just went a bit too long but then I still liked it

Ron reminds me a lot of Samwise Gamgee in this story. I assume you agree with my theory too

Multiple animagii! :) i like.  



Author's Response:

If you think these chapters are long, wait until you read "Destiny" - by that time, I had readers DEMANDING longer chapters, and of course, I try to please my readers (as long as it pleases me, too, of course!  LOL!)  Ron is like Sam in his unending loyalty to Harry, yup, although he does have his moments of annoyance with Harry too, at times (he is only human, after all).  Glad you like the multiple animagi!

Abraxan




Transfiguration
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
04/30/2006 12:02 pm

Poor Harry... he tries to get better and a Voldemort follower manages to do the unthinkable to him

Nice chapter again.... i liked Hermione's revenge on Bulstrode

 

 



Author's Response:

Yeah, I think Hermione got a "kick" out of that too!  Glad you liked it!

Abraxan




Threats Revealed
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
04/30/2006 11:47 am

there were parts of the chapter that i loved and some parts that left me a bit confused

i loved the HP girl fan club thing.... i can picture a bunch of teenage girls drooling over harry and him feeling all weird about it

Snape is a bit confusing. Considering that he wanted to murder Harry after Harry checked out his memory, he actually is having a civilized conversation with him in the book. As much as you said Harry grew up after book5 he and Snape would still loath each other. Harry blames Snape for Sirius's death and Snape blames Harry for existing

But a very well written chapter. Sorry about the concrit. It's something I always do 



Author's Response:

I don't remember which chapter you're on, but at various times in canon and in my fics, Snape actually HELPS Harry, despite their mutual distrust and loathing, so Harry, as he matures, goes from simple loathing to a bit of confusion about the man, justifiably so, I think.  Snape's behavior isn't consistant with that of a mortal enemy.  Sometimes he HELPS, such as when he saved Harry from falling off the broom in PS/SS.  I'm just building on that, adding to the confusion, because I find it quite interesting.  You'll see that as you go on through the stories.

Glad you're enjoying it!  And your crit wasn't nearly as nasty as a lot I've had.  Thanks for the "sorry" though - those who are the most bloodthirsty never bother to think that there's a living, breathing person on the other end of this computer screen who might be hurt by what they said.  I appreciate your consideration!

Abraxan




Back to Hogwarts
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
04/30/2006 11:29 am

I liked the effect of the Wingardium Leviosa... that spell always reminds me of Emma Watson in the 1st movie saying, "It's 'leviosaaa' not 'leviorsa'. LOL

I found it slightly weird that Snape refers to Riddle as "Lord Voldemort" and not "The Dark Lord"

The moment of beard removing was pretty sweet too

A very nice chapter 



Author's Response:

LOL!  Yeah, every time I hear or write that spell, I hear Emma saying that with her "superior" expression!  LOL!  Glad you liked the chapter!

Abraxan




More Homework for Harry
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
04/29/2006 03:22 pm

LOL. My Hair hurts. that cracked me up

the concept of the refiners fire was really nice

and i loved the banter between harry and ginny 



Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed it!  Thanks for writing!

Abraxan




The Refiner's Fire
You must login (register) to review.