Reviews For The Refiner's Fire

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
05/01/2006 12:34 pm

Poor Hermione... What a punch... the curse of the black widow is again a brilliant concept... .where on earth did you get your ideas from? at this rate your original story will be a success :-)

 



Author's Response:

My ideas come out of my very fertile imagination!  I have no idea where that curse came from - it was just something I came up with when I was writing this chapter!  Glad you like it!  Thanks a lot!

Abraxan




Black Widow
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
05/01/2006 11:28 am

Awww! Poor Ron..... he's heartbroken.... I'm surprised Ginny took the news so well....

I also loved the memory Harry has about James

 



Author's Response:

Yup, poor Ron!  And Ginny's learning to think before she reacts, which is a sign of maturity on her part.  I loved that memory Harry had of James - glad you enjoyed it!

Abraxan




Betrayal
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
05/01/2006 11:01 am

Woohooooo! Clifffy............... Poor Ron..... LOL

i love the banter Harry and Ginny share..... it's so like them..... however Harry is really obstinate.... he usually doesn't ask for help if he's hurt... yet after the dream he said he needed help... in JKs world he'd have refused any help LOL

great chapter :) 



Author's Response:

He's growing up and realizing he can't do things alone.  That's part of the growth of his character, as I see it.  He need to understand that he needs his friends to help him with the "final solution."  Understanding that he does need help from time to time shows maturity on his part.

Glad you like the banter and the chapter!

Abraxan




Surprises and Shocks
Reviewer: Vic (Anonymous)
05/01/2006 10:04 am

Nice Chapter :)

But please be careful with certain remarks (remember that your reader are usually young and easily manipulated) such as "the French in general do not care about foreign problems". Being French, I feel deeply insulted by such a remark, especially knowing our history.

Anyway, good chapters so far :)

 Cheers !



Author's Response:

Sorry, Vic, I had no intention of insulting you - it was a character talking, and that's his opinion.  Glad you're enjoying the story!  I believe that's the ONLY mention of the French in both my novels, so you shouldn't have any more worries.

Abraxan




To Rumania and Back
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
05/01/2006 10:00 am

Madam Desiree is an interesting character..... I suspected her true identity the first time I read this story..

I like the way Harry annoyed Seamus by jumping on his head in the cat form

Parvati Patil.... poor thing.....

It wasn't your best chapter.... but that doesn't mean it was bad.... the other chapters were excellent.... this was a point below excellent:) 



Author's Response:

A point below, eh?  Oh well!!  Glad you liked parts of it, anyway!

Abraxan




Fans and Foes
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
05/01/2006 05:25 am

LOL this was a nice chapter.... i know it's a bit too late, but where did you get the idea of the Adfero. It's brilliant

 



Author's Response:

Thanks!  I got the idea from Goblet of Fire, when Dumbledore sent a silvery thing shaped a bit like a bird to Hagrid when they found Barty Crouch, Sr., dead.  It was a message spell.  So I looked up "communication" and "message" and related words in an online English/Latin, English/Italian (etc.) dictionary and came up with "Adfero" (it should be explained in the Author's Notes for that chapter).  I didn't know when I wrote this that JKR had designed these "message spells" as Patronuses (Patroni?).  Remus said back in PoA that not even many mature wizards could do the Patronus Charm, so how could someone like Mundungus Fletcher be expected to do it?  So if JKR's thinks the Patronus Charm is what the Order is using for communication, then the Patronus Charm isn't as difficult as Remus (and JKR) said it was (if Dung can do it, anyone can do it, IMO, LOL!).  So I think it's better to have the Adfero be separate from the Patronus Charm - and I wrote it before HBP came out anyway, so I didn't know that was supposed to be a Patronus.  ;-)

Yup, I'm writing this response too fast and rambling - hope it makes sense to you and answers your question, anyway!  Glad you liked it!  And since you've read Destiny - I like the other "communication" system I set up there VERY well!  And I won't say more so I won't spoil it for those who haven't read it, but I invented that one completely and am quite pleased with it.

Abraxan




Christmas at the Burrow
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
05/01/2006 04:52 am

Poor Pansy... Draco is such a $%&!^#%$ in this story..... but he seems more brave and gutsy  than he did in t books. he is pretty spineless in those.... here he seems to be lying his way out

I liked the way you wrote the ball too.... 



Author's Response:

Thanks so much!  Yeah, I thought JKR was taking the easy way out in the way she wrote Draco - not giving him enough of a spine.  Bullies are cowards at heart, but they at least have some bravado, and as they mature, they often develop some guts (some FORM of guts, anyway - ick!) so they can keep bullying people who now may be bigger or more powerful than they are.  Draco's ambitious (he IS a Slytherin, after all!) and he's trying to gain Voldemort's approval (warped sense of values there!!), so he's doing more "gutsy" bullying, I guess you could say.  :-)  It simply seemed the logical way to grow the character to me.  Glad you like it!

Glad you enjoyed the ball, too!

Abraxan




Recovery
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
05/01/2006 04:31 am

I love the way you have written Hagrid in the story. Identical to JK's Hagrid.... even the accent is perfect

Again great chapter 



Author's Response:

Thanks a LOT!  That "accent" is HARD to write!!  The character himself isn't hard to write at all - but the accent was a real job for me!  Glad you like it!

Abraxan




Where do wings go?
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
05/01/2006 04:04 am

Really nice chapter..... the thought of Crabbe and Goyle having dialogues is crazy since JK says they grunt most of the time....the only time they spoke was when Harry and Ron dressed up like them

The Dementor scene was slightly weird in my opinion because they suddenly came and went. Sheesh... there I rant again about tiny flaws :-S

I love the story and hats off to you for putting such a phenomenol effort in this

I have read TOD... I reviewed on other fanfic sites and I hope to review it once you put it up :-)

I'm a London Lions fan.... GO LIONS 



Author's Response:

So do you have your Lions shirt yet???  I'm going to meet Kelpie, my Brit-picker, for the first time while on this trip!  We're both going to wear Lions shirts so we'll recognize each other!  :-D  Go to www.thesculptedhorse.com/abraxan.html to order one.  I don't keep a lot in stock, and as I said, I'm going on vacation, but I'll fill your order ASAP.  If you're ordering a size over XL, I'll need to send you an email with a Paypal button in it, because I couldn't figure out how to put in so many different prices (the shipping is more on the larger sizes, as well as the cost of the shirts being more - I'm offering sizes up to 10 XL, and yes, I HAVE filled orders for shirts that size). 

Hey, don't rant about tiny flaws NOW! :-D  I'm not changing these stories - they are what they are and I've moved on to other things (my original novel, some ficlets to fill in the gaps in Destiny's epilogue).  And you're right, it was a HUGE effort - over two years of my life to write, polish and upload these two.  If I'd been doing them for real-life publication, I would've spent longer on them, but I had a "chapter a week" upload schedule that was sometimes hard to meet!  Glad you're enjoying my stories!  Thanks for reviewing on here - this has been a particularly slow site for my stories for some reason.

Abraxan




Christmas Shopping in Hogsmeade
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
05/01/2006 03:43 am

I don't want to get on your Harry's bad side. He might think my head is a boulder and I'll be related to the headless horseman :P

One query I have in this chapter is this: He looked around the room. “Which of you seen or been near Dementors?” All the second year and above students raised their hands. “Yes, I thought so. Some came on the Hogwarts Express last year... weren't the dementors only travelling on the express in book3

I loved the quiddich match.... they are always relaxing and flow beautifully....writing it is an art, especially when you're adding commentary also

Hope you have a good vacation :-) 



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your kind words about my Quidditch match!  A lot of people think I write those well, which amazes (and pleases!) me, since I've never been one for team sports, either to participate in or watch.  I'm glad they turned out so well!

I researched everything as well as possible, but it's been a while since I wrote Refiner's.  I think there must have been some on the train or I wouldn't have written it that way.  Or are you referring to Destiny?  If you're reading Destiny, there were Dementors on the train in Refiners somewhere, I think.  It's been a long time since I read (or wrote) either novel and I'm in the middle of an original one now, so my memory may be faulty on what's in the chapters.  But I did check timelines and so on as well as I could, so if I said there were dementors there, there must have been at SOME point! 

Abraxan, leaving this afternoon!!  YAY!  (Thanks for the good wishes!)




Harry Rocks his World
You must login (register) to review.