Reviews For The Refiner's Fire

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: mrsaxman (Signed)
07/03/2008 05:04 pm
This has been an amazing story to read, very well written, with an engaging plotline and characters that you can really get involved with.

I'm almost afraid to read the sequel, if it's anywhere near as good as this I've lost another day of my time!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot!  Destiny now has several sequels, including a chaptered one, "Now and Forever" that covers Harry's first year after Hogwarts.  I also have an original novel out now, that you can find on Amazon or BN.com - "Star Sons - Dawn of the Two" is a fantasy novel I think my readers will enjoy.  Search for "Lynda Sappington" on either site and you'll find it.



The Way Home
Reviewer: JKG (Anonymous)
06/25/2007 10:21 pm
This is a great story! Really enjoyed it. However, I cannot find the sequel "The Time of Destiny"...... Is there a way to get that story???

Author's Response:

If you look in my bio on here, all the sites with my other stories are listed there.  I never uploaded the other stories here because I didn't have time - someone else uploaded "Refiners" or it wouldn't be here.  Come to my Yahoo group (http://groups.yahoo.com/group/HPRefiners Fire) or Fanficauthors.net or SIYE or the OWL network - all the sites are listed in my bio, as well as info on the original novels I've written, the first of which will be published soon!!!

I'm glad you enjoyed the story!  Come see the others!  Thanks for writing!

Abraxan




The Way Home
Reviewer: larki (Signed)
04/07/2007 12:57 am

I love your story! I can't imagine Harry with a beard, but I can't imagine him living long enough to grow one, either. But that's just me. :)  ♥

Author's Response:

LOL!  If you can't imagine Harry with a beard, you haven't seen recent pics of Dan Radcliffe lately!  But "my" Harry's beard is a lot "better developed" than Dan's is.  I'm glad you're enjoying my story!

Abraxan




The Way Home
Reviewer: larki (Signed)
04/02/2007 03:34 pm
Wonderful cliffhanger!! Harry seems to be getting hurt even more than he does when I write fanfic. Almost every chappie. Love your story!

Author's Response:

I'm glad you're enjoying my story!  Thanks a lot!

 Abraxan




Christmas Shopping in Hogsmeade
Reviewer: Konrad (Signed)
09/16/2006 08:21 am

Oh no, you've got a sequel? There goes another week worth of sleep...

I've been reading The Refiner's Fire in the evenings most, and stayed up until the wee hours of the morning reading. I just couldn't wait to read more and more and more. I don't remember having that with the books by Rowling herself.

Now, enough praise I guess. I just hated it when Stacey was murdered. I really felt like strangling Skeeter myself, and I think I was heartbroken as well. She seemed such a nice lass, especially for Harry. That's just my main critique I guess, sometimes, just sometimes, it seems as if Harry's forgotten about Stacey too much. It isn't really disturbing, but I just find it to be a pity. Oh well, I guess that's what not living in dreams is all about?

The whole idea of the Refiner's Fire is marvelous really. Did you thought of that or did you find it in some obscure encyclopedia?

Anyway, I read the last chapters yesterday and it did leave me with a desire to read sequel -- pirate!Harry and a parrot-phoenix hehe. Anyway, I'll have to create a new yahoo account to be able to get to your sequel. (Worthless age restrictions of foreign countries.)

Anyway, nice work! I hope your fantasy writing will be a success (and I hope to read it someday; I'm going to start working on a series of stories of my own fantasy world in a couple of weeks, so I hope there's enough creativity left for me when you're done).



Author's Response:

Her name's "Casey" not "Stacy" and she is gone but not forgotten.  She has a role to play in the sequel, and fan response to her was so strong, I've made her a "regular cast member" in my original novel series.

The idea for "The Refiner's Fire" came from my being a professional sculptor and knowing about metals being purified through the refining process.  There's also a Bible verse about the refiner's fire.  The whole novel began with my wanting to see Harry be allowed to grieve over Sirius, and to have some closure over his death (the memorial service Casey helped Harry with).  Everything evolved from there. 

Glad you enjoyed it.  Good luck with your own writing!

Abraxan




The Way Home
Reviewer: mariel (Anonymous)
06/13/2006 05:11 pm
that was AMAZING!! i really loved that story through and through. im alittle sad that you got rid of seamus and katie though, i really did like them. it was sad when ron said that they had removed seamus's bed and had filled the gaps in. thanks for the amazing story!!!

~mariel

Author's Response:

Thanks a lot!  Yeah, I hated killing off Seamus, in particular.  I really missed him when I was writing the sequel to Refiners (which isn't on here - I haven't had time to upload it here.  You can read it at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/HPRefinersFire or at SIYE or FFA or FFN or Schnoogle on Fiction Alley).  Glad you enjoyed it!

Abraxan




The Way Home
Reviewer: twinsmom (Signed)
06/07/2006 10:46 pm

This was fantastic!  I've totally enjoyed myself!!!  I wish you had "The Time of Destiny" posted over here.  I'm having trouble with my link to SIYE.  But, I will struggle with the site to read it- it's worth it!!!

Christy 

 



Author's Response:

I TRIED to post it here, but the submission form is long and complicated (necessarily so, I suppose, but still, it takes a long time to fill it out).  I'm busy writing an original novel and just don't have time to fight with this form.  You can read it at my Yahoo group, http://groups.yahoo.com/group/HPRefinersFire, or at www.FanFicAuthors.com or www.Fanfiction.net or www.Fictionalley.com (Schnoogle - the novel division) as well as SIYE.  Destiny and some ficlets that go with it are posted all of those places, but the Yahoo site has everything I've written, and in quite a few formats.  You can download Destiny as one file there, despite it being over 1400 pages long. 

I'm glad you enjoyed my story!  Thanks so much!

Abraxan




The Way Home
Reviewer: mariel (Anonymous)
06/01/2006 04:14 am
oh my gosh! i could not stop crying in this chapter! poor harry! why'd you have to go and kill off casey?! i really liked her!! i always thought that ginny and harry were the only ones to be but now that i've read about case, i love her! poor poor harry! i went through about 6 tissues in this one chapter! very good!!! im so happy i found this story!!

Author's Response:

Thanks so much!  I'm glad you're enjoying the story!  I've been amazed at the strong response people have had to Casey.  I'm honored people feel so strongly about one of my original characters. Casey is gone but not forgotten - you'll see as you keep reading.  She's also remembered in the sequel to "Refiner's" - "The Time of Destiny" (which I thought someone was going to upload here for me, but it hasn't happened yet - sorry).  And Casey has been revived to be one of the major characters in the original novel I'm working on, "Star Sons."  I wrote her for Refiners with every intention of killing her off - her death is a catalyst for several necessary things in Harry's life.  I have no plans to kill her off in my novel (although who knows???  heehee).  I'm glad you're enjoying the story!  Thanks for writing!

 Abraxan




Goodbyes
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
05/20/2006 02:00 pm
Very nice chapter.... nice gift bestowed upon Harry and Hermione LOL... it was very aesthetically written. The rest of the chapter was as consistant as always


Author's Response:

Thanks so much!  I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Abraxan




Back in the Real World Again
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
05/15/2006 03:25 pm

Really sorry i didn't review for so long. I got a job last month and they are taking the life out of me LOL. Not that I'm complaining. I love the newspaper industry

I loved the chapter especially the Arthur-Harry little wizards talk.... Charlie is  the least spoken of Weasleys and I'm glad you gave him a role. That guy in Romania reminded me of this guy in the Godfather who says, "Don Corleone, I wish your daughter a happy married life and I wish her first child to be a masculine child"



Author's Response:

LOL!  I hadn't thought of that "Godfather" comparison, but it seems appropriate!  Glad you liked the little wizards talk and what I did with Charlie.  Glad you're doing well in your job, too!  Nice to see you here again!  Thanks for writing!

Abraxan




To Rumania and Back
You must login (register) to review.