Reviews For Hearthlinks

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: CrysCullen (Signed)
02/15/2009 04:28 pm

:) I really like how you're making a your own changes to the so well known Cinderella story. Wonderful, really. :) Post again soon.



Author's Response:

Thank you! The story is finished, so posting will be prompt.




Until the Stroke of Twelve
Reviewer: CrysCullen (Signed)
02/14/2009 07:16 pm

Awww. It's like a witch version of Cinderella. Very cute! I hope the charms hold though. :)



Author's Response:

I'm sure you know what has to happen when midnight strikes...




Sleeping with the Ashes
Reviewer: CrysCullen (Signed)
02/14/2009 07:03 pm

Poor Sally-Anne... Cressida is a horrible person. :(



Author's Response:

I intend to make you hate her even more before I begin to let you feel sorry for her...




Sororal Devotion
Reviewer: CrysCullen (Signed)
02/14/2009 01:37 pm

Oooh. Slytherine and Hufflepuff together at the ball. That should be interesting. :)



Author's Response:

Life around Blaise Zabini generally tends to become interesting...




Invitation to the Ball
Reviewer: CrysCullen (Signed)
01/27/2009 04:02 pm

What an evil woman! Post more!!



Author's Response:

Isn't that the essence of evil? Cressida isn't plotting to take over the world, but she has zero empathy for anyone else (except perhaps Xavier) and zero regard for factual accuracy. I hope by now you're feeling a little sorry for her daughters... Thanks for reviewing.




All the Gold in Gringotts
Reviewer: CrysCullen (Signed)
01/27/2009 03:49 pm

This just all breaks my heart. :( This poor little family.



Author's Response:

Yes, I know I'm caricaturing "modern morality". It might annoy some divorced people, but I think the children's point of view deserves to be heard. Thanks for reading.




Stepping Away
Reviewer: CrysCullen (Signed)
01/27/2009 03:35 pm

Poor child! I can't wait to read and see what happens, and how she deals with Cecilia. Oh, and WB to WizardTales!



Author's Response:

Thank you! You may have to wait until the last chapter before you see Sally-Anne actually "dealing" with Cecilia.

P.S. What is "WB"?




Once Upon a Time
Reviewer: MuggleMomma (Anonymous)
01/27/2009 02:12 pm

This is an especially poignant representation of divorced life with me, and some parts of it strike and all-too-familiar bell.  Additionally, you've got some great setup going on here.  Just who is Cressida, and why is it so dangerous to cross her?  I'm anxiously awaiting the answer!



Author's Response:

I'm sorry to hear that these events are familiar to you. Actually, I was going to consult you about this. A few readers on other sites have complained that they have found this story too distressing to read because the writing was too accurate. I did try to select a Warning when I posted here, but you don't seem to have an appropriate one. I do think that vulnerable readers should be warned in advance that this story night not be suitable for them.

Cressida's background is not very interesting to her stepdaughters, who simply want to get away from her, but if you really want to know, she is a great-great-granddaughter of Phineas Nigellus Black. Another point that I don't really have room to make in this story is that her parents have not been very supportive; they have really left her feeling that she has to solve all her problems herself. So if you remember anything about her first husband (he's a canon character), you'll know why she's insecure. Cressida's parents are Lothario and Euphonia Honeysmooch; they own a perfume shop in Diagon Alley. Her sister Messalina served a term as DADA teacher at Hogwarts, as I relate in "Moons of Deceit". Anyway, I'm afraid it will be a long time before Sally-Anne has the maturity to see anything from Cressida's point of view. And whatever her background, her behaviour to other people is nevertheless inexcusable!




Stepping Away
Reviewer: MuggleMomma (Anonymous)
01/23/2009 07:51 pm

Wow!  How could I not have discovered this before!  First of all, I'm loving Sally-Anne so far...she's very refreshingly non-Mary-Sue for an OC.  Second of all, you've done the dialects marvelously.  I can tell this is going to be a very interesting story, and well-written to boot!  *hurries off to read the next chapter*



Author's Response:

Dear MM, Thanks for taking the trouble to review when you have so many fanfics running through your life! I had help on the dialects - if in doubt, I try to go to a native speaker. I AM a native speaker of Midlands, so the Perks family is easy for me. Thank you for telling me that Sally-Anne worked for you. Her lack of perfection is actually a fairly important plot point. I'm so happy that you wrote in. GhV




Once Upon a Time
You must login (register) to review.