Reviews For Double Justice

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream (Signed)
03/08/2009 10:42 pm
Oh, my...! It turns out that my spouse is involved in an organization that tries to socialize and find homes for feral kittens -- by "spousal extension," I'm (somewhat) involved, as well. And I doubt you'd be surprised to find that there are a few creatures of the feline persuasion about the house.... :-}

I don't suppose Dr Bast has read anything by Robert Heinlein ... such as "The Cat Who Walked Through Walls" -- probably not, as it was published in 1985.... :-} While Schroedinger's work would have been early enough, I'm not at all convinced that Wizards would have likely been aware of it.

Eh; enough of that. Yes, I suspect that Minerva may be able to provide a useful perspective or two.

Well done.

Author's Response:

That's wonderful.  Carroll County wher I live has started a feral society and Baltimore city recently repealed a horrible law which made anyone who fed a feral cat totally responsible for it.  Many were fined, but no more.  Minerva would be proud. 

I've not read much of Heinlein, but that story sounds like one I'd like.  And Schrödinger's cat--hmmm.  Arthur Weasley would be fascinated the many ways Muggles try to explain wizarding phenomena.  I myself am sure that "Dark Matter" and "Dark Energy" have something to do with Voldemort.




12. Leo Bast
Reviewer: CrysCullen (Signed)
02/02/2009 02:45 pm

What an interesting premise for a story.I'll follow this one for sure.:) Nicely written.



Author's Response:

Welcome, Crys, and thanks.  It is a little different and the protagonist and era not the most popular in ficdom.




Prologue
Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream (Signed)
01/31/2009 12:20 pm
Interesting intro to Nott. And I rather like the "Tribble" reference -- cute. :-)

Author's Response:

My husband's a Trekkie, and "The Trouble with Tribbles" is a fave for both of us. 




11. New Faces
Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream (Signed)
01/26/2009 08:33 am
I see that membership in the "Circle of Love" doesn't imply "lack of competitive spirit." :-}

Interesting names for fields of study; I reckon you had a bit of fun with that.

Author's Response:

Yep and yep.  Hee-hee.




Knowledge, Power, or Love
Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream (Signed)
10/14/2008 12:32 am
A Squib apprentice, eh? Curiouser and curiouser....

Well done!



Welcome to WEEMI, Yank
Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream (Signed)
09/03/2008 12:12 am
Ah -- wonderful to see an update on this very well-crafted story! :-) I'm (still) enjoying the interactions. :-)

Author's Response: It tickles me to hear that, W.S., I spent a lot of time in chap 8 tweaking the dialogue to reveal the characters. 



8. Alumnae Reunion
Reviewer: Martina (Signed)
09/02/2008 01:09 pm
Oh, I'm so glad to see another update. This, combined with Sugarquill finally updating again, put a little silver lining on my day =)

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear it, Martina.  I don't know if i can update molre often, though.  As I say, I'm practically rewriting this, and I am a very slow writer--just can;t seem to stop making corrections.



8. Alumnae Reunion
Reviewer: Highice007 (Signed)
08/11/2008 11:53 pm
  Nice chapter. You really write the scottish culture well, accents and all. I wish I had scottish people around to give me insights to the culture. It sounds like you've been there. I guess Minervia got a little drunk and turned into her Animangus. However there are a few words and expressions that I don't understand, could you perhaps give me some clairafication? Words like; Slunken Jo, changed a whit,  Anyway, great chapter. I hope she beats the raven, but doesn't kill it. They are such cool birds. Great chapter. :)

Author's Response:

Hi Wayne, As you know, I'm as American as apple pie, never been to Europe, and all i know about Scots culture is from my first beta Euan Munro, my friend Diana, who writes under the name GraceHas Victory (her stuff is great.  I think most of it's here on WT), and reams of stuff I've looked up on-line.  'Slunken jo' is Scots, means 'coward'.  'a whit' is an old form of 'a bit'.  You're right about the drunk part, but there's more to it than that as a later chapter will reveal.  And as for the raven... well the next chap will tell you quite a bit.




A Wedding
Reviewer: Highice007 (Signed)
07/10/2008 03:11 am
Very good. I'm guessing LOKHS are magical items that allow you to understand other languages.        This is of cores very good. I could get a good idea of the environment from the beginning, I could really see everything that was going on. Bagshot… that sounds very familiar, but I just cant place the name yet. Sounds cannon.         “Ve haf only to look for da red and yellow platok...." That was the only thing I didn’t get. What is a platok?           You have a very good sense of area I can tell. Are your family from Poland, or did you study a map before you started writing. Humm a war in Europe, a muggle war. I think most likely world war two. You mentioned that Dumbledore is in this but I don’t know how long wizards live, so maybe it’s world war one. But I think world war two. Still I guess it depends on the year. If her father is taking her on holiday in France then it might be after 1940, and he feels safe even though it’s under occupation, or it’s after 1944 and he feels the Germans have run out of steam. I wonder why the baddies thought they had got her too? Wait! I Think I know. The polish girl was give her Gryffindor scarf as a gift, and had gone to the tent to bring the food I thin. She would have likely been wearing the gift. So… is a Platok Polish for scarf?

      Good story, and I look forward to reading a page a day until completion. :)

 



Author's Response:

Hi Wayne, So you decided to take a peek at my stuff, eh?  Well, this is actually the third of a trilogy , but you guessed most of the background, and a platok is indded a scarf.  Had to look that up.  I'm not Polish at all but have some friends who are,

 Hildy Bagshot is a character I made up.  She's related to Bathilda Bagshot who wrote "A History of Magic." Bathilda is a crucial character in the last HP book.

 Thanks for writing.




Prologue
Reviewer: Martina (Anonymous)
03/02/2008 10:54 am
Oh, I just saw that Sugarquill has recently updated after all; I thougt they were just going to keep their story archive, and not put up anything new.


Prologue
You must login (register) to review.