You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: MorphM (Anonymous)
06/22/2007 01:28 pm
This theory is very interesting to me, especially considering how Harry acts at the beginning of HBP.  If Sirius had died with this overwhelming "I'll never get to say goodbye" feeling, I think it would have made the grief even worse for Harry.  I hope that Harry has only just begun to realize his magical power with the final novel approaching, because it would certainly support this theory of love.  This story is very well-written; I commend you.

Author's Response: Thank you! I think we see a little of Harry's inner Sirius in HBP when he says Sirius wouldn't have wanted him to crack up and lock himself away, or something like that. But I'm certainly hoping we see a more physical version (like James as Patronus, for example) in DH. Glad you liked the story, and thanks for stopping by to review! :D



Chapter Ten
Reviewer: VacantSkies (Signed)
06/04/2007 05:50 pm
I don't suppose a review would persuade you to change the ending and make things end happily ever after, would it? ;)

Author's Response: Believe me, I've been sorely tempted to tweak the blocking, just a little, and send Bella through the veil instead. But no, killing him will be hard but if Jo can do it, I can do it. *sigh*



Chapter Nine
Reviewer: spiderwort (Anonymous)
06/04/2007 11:13 am
Oh the foreshadowing--liked Bella, did he?  Ouch!  Love it.  Write on, oh CB.

Author's Response: Yeah, I love playing those two off of each other. While they're obviously very different people, I also think there's a lot of family resemblance in their personalities.



Chapter One
Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
06/04/2007 07:08 am

Let me start by saying I never liked the Sirius of OotP.  He was whiny, selfish, and morally flabby--not a person I would pick for a fifteen year old orphan's surrogate parent.  But you've made his motivations and emotions believable and something i can empathize with.  How did you do it? 

"... back then she'd thought him the Most Exciting Person in the World because he had a motorbike; a flying motorbike (okay, it was hard to argue with that)." 

First you showed how he treated his gangly niece (giving her a ride on his flying bike--perfect, and BTW, love that nick--Nym!)  I imagined that in a better frame of mind, he would treat Harry the same way.

"... he'd gone a bit... stodgy over the years, without Padfoot and Prongs around to set him straight.... And it really hurt Sirius to see an old friend so demoralized he could discuss Snivelly confiscating the Map from Harry without even cracking a smile."
 

Then you showed that he worried about Remus, and cared for him, not just as a sidekick to laugh at his jokes, but as a man with a debilitating social handicap who just needed a little silliness and love in his life to make it bearable.

"She took to slipping him sweets from Honeydukes and loudly telling her sisters it was embarrassing enough to have a blood traitor in the family, could they please not remind the whole school by constantly hexing him in the halls."

You introduced a very aristocratic Andi Black Tonks into his life, and implied that she protected him from Bella and her Slytherin gang by having her secret boyfriend Ted hang around with him.

“But I also see a lot of loyalty and bravery here... yes, you're not the sort who saves his own neck first....“
 

And finally, you limned that priceless dialogue with the Sorting Hat.  I almost cried at the little boy's demand that his brand new friend James be placed with him in Slytherin--so real, so touching.

Thanks so much for changing my mind.  I might even weep a bit next time I come to the end of  OotP.



Author's Response: Hi, Spiderwort! Oddly enough, I didn't much care for Sirius either the first time I read the books. I was so worried someone like Ron or Hermione was gonna die that when Sirius did I was thinking, "whatever, he's only been around for two books anyway." He really grew on me when I started reading fanfics though, and he's been my favorite character since I started writing about him. It's fun to try and get in his head!

Anyway, I'm glad you're enjoying the story so far, and thanks for reviewing!! :D



Chapter Three
Reviewer: VacantSkies (Signed)
05/31/2007 10:41 pm
I think when you leave home for a while, there's this idea in your head that when you come back, your parents will have kept your room exactly the way you've left it.  I don't think anyone would really appreciate coming back to find that their belongings had been messed with, but I think it would be really horrible to discover that everything you owned had simply been thrown out.  Now I know why Sirius was so shocked when he opened that door....

Author's Response: Sirius expected his things to be thrown out, because he ran away from home. It was Regulus's things getting thrown out that really shocked him, since he was supposed to be the good and revered son.



Chapter Seven
Reviewer: VacantSkies (Signed)
05/31/2007 10:08 pm

Intriguing...

What is so shocking about Regulus's room, I wonder?

edit: haha, i just realized i used the same wording as the last review. anyway, this was another fantastic chapter, even if it was a bit short.  i hope you keep writing and submit your next chapter soon, though above all i hope you keep having fun writing this story, otherwise no one will ever know how it ends!



Author's Response: Thanks! Actually, the next chapter is ready, I'll add it to the queue. You do know how it ends already too ... Sirius dies. :(



Chapter Six
Reviewer: Buttamellow (Signed)
05/10/2007 08:38 am
Ooh, I'm intrigued.  I can't wait to see what happens next!  Great job. :)

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it, thanks for letting me know! :D



Chapter One
Reviewer: VacantSkies (Signed)
05/09/2007 10:04 pm
I think from now on I'm going to start using the term 'pie-eyed' more because of this chapter.

Author's Response: Hehe, excellent. There are so many wonderful synonyms for "drunk" on my thesaurus widget. :D



Chapter Four
Reviewer: VacantSkies (Signed)
05/04/2007 01:28 am
Wow, another great story...and there's more to come, too?  I love how you've gotten inside the heads of both the Black brothers in both of your stories.  I'll definitely be keeping a look out for more of your work!

Author's Response: Thanks! Sirius came first and yes, there will be more of him. This fic follows him through the rest of his day/life, until he goes through the Veil, and I think it'll be about ten chapters by the time I'm done. Glad you're enjoying so far! :D



Chapter One
You must login (register) to review.