Reviews For The Darkest Hour

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Pulse_Puppy (Signed)
10/13/2009 03:03 am

Mate, you need to add more, most deffiently.

 

I have to say I am enjoying reading your story and infact i wouldn't have been on this site if I hadn't came across a link to your story on a friends myspace page.

 

I have to say I really like the part with trainning with the aurors and about the showing with the memories from Harry in the pencive.   2 thumbs up ^___^

 

Keep adding, please.

 

Take care, toodles.

 

- P.P.




Interlude 04
Reviewer: MuggleMomma (Anonymous)
06/12/2007 08:49 pm
Excellent installment, as usual!  I liked to see the interaction between Narcissa and Draco; you put a spin on it that most people don't try to do: that Narcissa is not as enamored of Draco as she's seemed to be.  It fits.  I'm wondering what Narcissa believes the Dark Lord's real plans are, however.  Will we find out in a subsequent chapter?


Interlude 04
Reviewer: Miri (Anonymous)
06/05/2007 09:13 pm

I am so delighted to find this story here as I have been looking for it for some time and through several web-sites. I first read it on SIYE ( and re-read it ) and was going through it again when it was removed from that site. Now, not only have I found it again, but to put fudge-cream icing on the chocolate cake, it has several new-to-me chapters that were fairly recently published ( I was afraid the story had been abandoned).

Now, I intend to re-read this story which was one of the first Harry-takes-control-of-his-life-after-OotP that I read and it is still one of the best. I also plan to review evey chapter, even the ones I've already read and reviewed some time ago. Now, on to chapter 1.

One of the things I enjoy about this fic, is the long chapters and this one covers a lot of territory. It's good to see Harry start to pull himself out of his despondency, and start to pull a few fast ones on Dudley. I think the letters from his friends are quite in character and a good beginning for where they are going to fit in in this story, especially Ginny. I'm not as sure about Harry's letter to Dumbledore, but it does seem to fit Harry's character in this story. Time will tell. But, I was touched by Dumbledore's reaction to the letter.

I like the OC, Harry's new martial arts teacher. He sounds like he's going to be a very good influence on Harry.

Hooray, for the downfall of Fudge and even more of Umbridge. I was astonished to see in HBP that not only was Umbridge not in Azkaban where she belonged for several of her actions, but she was still working for the Ministry. And then to have the gall to show up for Dumbledore's funeral was the height of hypocrisy. I hope we see something happen to Umbridge in DH that is at least somewhat similar to what happens here. We probably won't but it would be nice.

One of the most important things about any story for me is the writing skill: good grammar, correct spelling, good word choice and usage. All are to be found here as it is obvious that Ham has a very good grasp of the writing essentials. His work is easy on the eye and mind. Kudos to him and his betas. Now, on to the next loop of his "rollercoaster".  




Trials and Tribulations
Reviewer: The Wikkit Gate (Anonymous)
05/09/2007 02:54 am
An excellent chapter to an excellent story.  I was extatic when I saw you had updated.  Thankyou so much for such a great story.


All Hell Breaks Loose
Reviewer: MuggleMomma (Anonymous)
05/04/2007 11:28 am
Awesome chapter!  I love that Harry's going to have Assistant Professor status.  I think it's very fitting and very original.  I'm really looking forward to seeing further development on this story!  Keep it up!


All Hell Breaks Loose
Reviewer: MuggleMomma (Anonymous)
05/04/2007 11:10 am
Everything is starting to fall into place!  I hope Harry did well on his exams, and I think the interaction between Harry and Neville was just about perfect.  Great job!


The Last Few Days of Summer
Reviewer: MuggleMomma (Anonymous)
05/04/2007 11:04 am
Oooh...gosh...I feel so badly for Neville that I just want to cry.  I hope he gets what he needs to recover, I really do.


Picking up the Pieces
Reviewer: MuggleMomma (Anonymous)
05/04/2007 10:23 am
I'd forgotten how brutal this particular interlude was.  For all that, though, it was well-written and well-placed.  :)  I loved what happened with the Dursleys.  Perfectly fitting!  I'm falling in love with this story all over again!


Interlude 03
Reviewer: MuggleMomma (Anonymous)
05/04/2007 10:17 am
My favorite part of this chapter was definitely the chess match.  I loved the descriptions of the players confusing Alan by shouting out instructions.  I'm also wondering how the love potion thing is going to work out...hmmm...


The Calm Before the Storm
Reviewer: Elvenlaughter (Signed)
05/02/2007 08:41 pm
This is an excellent story, Ham! I just read through all 23 chapters in one day. I look forward to the next chapter and hope it will come out soon!


Trials and Tribulations
You must login (register) to review.