Reviews For Crown of the North

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: captburke (Signed)
03/20/2009 01:03 am

He's not going to away with this. She's not going to let him.



Author's Response:

Since when did Remus know himself? Or anyone else?




Forging a Future
Reviewer: captburke (Signed)
03/20/2009 12:45 am

Things are never what they seem.



Author's Response:

So whose judgment will you trust?




The Black Thorns of Rejection
Reviewer: captburke (Signed)
03/20/2009 12:28 am

I'm betting on MacNair.



Author's Response:

Keep thinking...




The Enemy who Lied
Reviewer: captburke (Signed)
03/19/2009 11:53 pm

At least it'll be getting warmer soon.



Author's Response:

More like too hot to handle...




The Good Shepherd and the Ravening Wolf
Reviewer: captburke (Signed)
03/19/2009 11:31 pm

Progressing nicely. Hopefully she'll be out of school before her parents find out what's going on. And if Snivellus gives them any hints about Remus being a werewolf or that there might be a relationship with their daughter, I'll hex him into the next century.



Author's Response:

Thank you for being on Ariadne's side! But the biggest challenge is in a place she doesn't expect...




The Orange Flowers of Self-Deception
Reviewer: captburke (Signed)
03/19/2009 10:56 pm

Very protective young lady is Ariadne. MacNair I'm sure will do something very nasty to retaliate after being questioned about the Girl In The Window. It probably is Veleta. Don't even want to imagine what they are doing to her.

 



Author's Response:

No, you don't. Especially as it's based on a real-life human rights case.




Shampoo
Reviewer: captburke (Signed)
03/19/2009 03:09 am

I'm glad Ivor(whom I believe became Hestia's husband)saw the same thing she did. Making Veleta some kind of "ancestral type servant/clairvoyant whatever would suit the MacNairs quite well. They would very much enjoy making someone's, anyone's life as miserable, downtrodden, deviant as possible. Maybe they get to rescue her?

I do believe there is some kind of relationship in the making. I am guessing I was off by a year, and Ariadne is 8 yrs younger than Remus and friends.



Author's Response:

We will continue to track the Ivor/Hestia relationship throughout the story, so you won't miss out on those details. They are a kind of foil to the Remus/Ariadne dynamic - the young couple who have the "normal" courtship. They also foil Kingsley (who will be unlucky in love), Richard and Sarah (who are somewhat shallow in their romantic interactions) and Veleta (whose life is not normal in any sense). So keep reading; all your questions will be answered.




The Friend who Understood
Reviewer: captburke (Signed)
03/19/2009 02:40 am

Am I seeing a relationship developing? It's possible, and it's also possible she will lose her life because of what she knows. I wouldn't trust any of her relatives, outside her immediate family, any farther than I could throw them. Especially if they think it could benefit them in some way.



Author's Response:

You're very right about Ariadne's family. Her parents will protect her if they ever recognise the danger, and the Macmillans are decent people too. But would you throw a girl like Ariadne to the Malfoys or the Macnairs?

As for "relationship", well, Remus and Ariadne already have a relationship. The only question is what type of relationship it is and might become.




The Yellow Flowers of Danger
Reviewer: captburke (Signed)
03/19/2009 02:20 am

Good attitude that young lady has.

Now we know what happened to Caradoc. But will anyone else ever know? They can't exactly tell everyone they know he was killed by a werewolf. It was obviously someone from MacNair castle that brought Caradoc near the chained Con, released him from the chains and rechained him. Wonder if we'll know who it was. I'd vote for Bellatrix.



Author's Response:

Now that the friends have met Con, of course they will never want to turn him in. They know that he was almost as much a victim as Caradoc was. They don't know exactly who it was who set Con loose that night, but Ariadne is voting for Bellatrix too!

Thanks for reading so perceptively.




The Werewolf from Foss
Reviewer: captburke (Signed)
03/19/2009 02:01 am

Remus was wondering when she would put it all together. She is wrong about thinking he was the one who killed Caradoc. That could easily have been Greyback, or maybe Caradoc is imprisoned in MacNair's castle. I wonder if Veleta is the person in the window.

Now we find out how Ariadne deals with Remus "furry little problem"



Author's Response:

Yes, major turning point in the grand plot, isn't it? Ariadne has to work it all out.

You already know that Remus had nothing to do with Caradoc's demise because you know where he was on that night. In case you've forgotten, it's in chapter 16 of the previous story. The whole point of describing that episode was so that the alibi would be detailed - it adds nothing else to the plot.




The Man who Disappeared
You must login (register) to review.