Reviews For Three Orphans

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Sunderland Heir (Anonymous)
07/29/2007 03:49 pm
I think that this is a great story. It is so clever. I love learning about the lives of the older characters and McGonagall is one of my favorites. Keep posting those chapters, I can't wait!

Author's Response: About ten more chapters to go in this second book.  Then on to the third, dragging my small band of loyal Minerv-ites behind me.  Thanks for being one of them, Sunderland Heir!



49. A Plan
Reviewer: Christina (Anonymous)
07/17/2007 10:34 pm
I was so glad to find this story and the 1st one at this site, since I'd started the earlier one at mugglenet. I'm thoroughly enjoying reading this story.

Author's Response:

Thanks, Christina.  Glad to have you aboard.  I do try to provide expanations for readers who haven't read or completed the previous book, so I don't think you'll have trouble following the plot of book 2. 




1. Horace-August, 1937
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
05/27/2007 11:54 pm
Very nice story to start out the summer with. Feels nice to read something that sounds so intellegent. *sighs* I missed it. Made me laugh in a few places. I feel as if you got Horace right on. I liked it.

Author's Response: Ta, very much.  I like JKR's minor characters, and wanted to give some of them a bit more of a voice.



1. Horace-August, 1937
Reviewer: Mrs.H (Anonymous)
05/23/2007 01:46 pm
Wonderful "period" piece!  You obviously did your homework to get all the WWII references just so.  The only thing wrong with it is that I want MORE! 

Author's Response: Hi Mrs. H.  Glad you like.  The research (Thank heavens for the Internet) has made me fall in love  with the era, esp. the Battle of Britain.  As for the chapters, I'll try to keep 'em coming.



Letters and Journals Entries
Reviewer: MuggleMomma (Anonymous)
05/10/2007 10:10 am
Hmmm...interesting indeed.  I liked the insight into McGonagalls proclivity for Transfiguration. And the Conjunctivitis Curse!  I can't think of a better use for it.  Great chapter.

Author's Response:

Ha-ha--yes, Suze will seem a bit air-headed, but she knows how to use magic to keep irritating boys at bay.

And Minerva will continue to advance in her favorite subject.  In fact she uses it almost exclusively in a contest that comes up in 'twa-three' chapters.




2. Minerva-September, 1937
Reviewer: MuggleMomma (Anonymous)
05/10/2007 09:59 am

I absolutely loved the beginning of this story!  The interplay between Dumbledore and Slughorn was very good, and I like the thought that McGonagall and Riddle might have gone to school together.  It makes sense.

The mention of the Muggle war was very good as well.  Too many people who write about this era seem to forget that the whole world was falling to bits around them, and it would certainly have been a part of the Wizarding world as well. 



Author's Response:

Thanks, Tricia.  I loved it when Jo R. introduced us to Slughorn.  He reminds us that Dumbledore actually was a young wizard once, and had friends he hung out with.   

Few readers realize that Min and Tom were at Hogwarts together, or that Hagrid was in that group as well.  The possibilities of their relationships makes such great grist for writing, I'm always surprised that so few writers have chosen to explore them:  Minerva being so righteous and intelligent, Tom so intelligent and sly, and Hagrid so bluff and well-meaning.

The war will loom large later in the book when Britain declares against Germany.  The Battle of Britain in particular will have a great influence on Minerva and several of her friends.




1. Horace-August, 1937
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
12/03/2006 06:44 am
A young Minerva is pretty much like she is today, but you can't help but love he. I loved this chapter too. Great job

Author's Response: I am trying to use what we know of the redoubtable Professor to figure out what made her that way.  Thanks for noticing the connection.



2. Minerva-September, 1937
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
12/03/2006 06:34 am
I've been wanting to read this forever. Time was always a factor. I love the start. I was extremely amused with Bathilda Bagshot being one of Dumbledore's students, but at the same time am amazed at the way you've used all the small characters in JK's work. Great work :)

Author's Response: Thanks, Calamur.  JKR has given us so very many wonderful characters and creatures, not only in the main books, but in her online Mage of the Month, the ChocoFrog Cards, and the two paperbacks: 'Fantastic Beasts' and 'Quidditch thru the Ages' .  I just want to highlight as many as possible.  Glad you like! 



1. Horace-August, 1937
You must login (register) to review.