Reviews For Turning the Corner

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
03/18/2007 08:02 pm

Yea, Padma!  Serves Michael right. Though I still like him.  (He just needs to grow up a bit.)

Love the silliness in Muggle Studies. 'Sozed Klirkit' and 'Brasscording'  indeed!  (Sounds like Giggie Gwynn is teaching the class--tee hee.)



Author's Response: Michael just doesn't pay attention to his MS teacher, even though his father is a Muggle-born. (His mother is a scion of the Plumpton clan, very respectable.) He doesn't pay attention to girls either. It will be very long time before he works them out. As I said, he might be old enough to have functional hormones, but he is too young to be put through the trauma of trying to pair off. Thanks for reviewing.



Chucked
Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
03/18/2007 07:47 pm

Poor Viktor!  I didn't ever think he had to agonize so much or wait so long.

I had forgotten how much gossip and faulty analysis goes into deciding who to ask out on a date at this age.



Author's Response: The truth is, children in Year 10 shouldn't be put under this kind of pressure. But subject the girls to the temptation, and it's yap, yap, yap about it all day long. Viktor, by contrast, is possibly old enough to be thinking about it - but he'll be waiting a very, very long time if he wants Hermione to love him best.



Sugar Quills and Squabbles
Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
03/18/2007 07:36 pm
I love Michael's tender way with Laura, like a big brother.  He gave her excellent advice, but I guess that's just my mommy-side talking. 

Author's Response: This really show-cases his White Knight tendencies. Whether she'll be able to hear his advice is an entirely separate question.



The Unexpected Task
Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
03/18/2007 07:14 pm

Hi Diana,

I'm finally getting to read this.  Charming so far.  Thanks for your usual meticulous and enjoyable effort.

Mary



Author's Response: And thanks for your support too!



The River-Lotus
Reviewer: Lionz_4_the_Cup (Signed)
11/03/2006 03:58 pm
*laughs* I want to see the dance lesson! I loved when Corner talked to the girl, and her ending line, " "Thank you," she said. "Thank you for showing me that not all boys are like Blaise Zabini." ". :D Nice work.

Author's Response: Yes, Michael is a kind boy, with all his faults. And you will in fact see two dancing lessons, so you can laugh at how Michael falls over his two left feet. GhV



The Unexpected Task
Reviewer: Lionz_4_the_Cup (Signed)
11/03/2006 03:38 pm
Sorry I haven't reviewed in a while x.x Anyways. That was a great chapter. Great descriptions. Everything was flawless. :) Nice job. Off to read more!

Author's Response: I'm flattered! Nobody has ever called my writing "flawless" before - you're a friend I'll keep! GhV



A Bucket of Hexes
Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
10/29/2006 08:59 am

I like stories that parallel the HP books and you've picked two characters I would like to know more about.  At least *you* know how to make us want to know more about them, Diana!  Love the I-Ching-like "Wisdom for the Searching Heart," and I can't wait to get the low-down on the Yule Ball from Michael's perspective.



Author's Response:

Hi Mary,

Which of the myriad characters are the two that interest you? In this story I set myself the task of mentioning each of Harry's 39 classmates at least once, so there will be a hefty cast.

I'm afraid the book will turn out to be rather trite and superficial, and the running joke is that Michael consistently misses whatever wisdom it might offer. But there wlil defintely be a LOW low-down on the ball.

Thanks for reviewing,

D




The River-Lotus
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
10/28/2006 02:55 pm
I love the start to the fic. the pointers were brilliant :D


Author's Response: Thanks, Calamur. I hope some of your burning questions were on the list, because all will be answered. GhV



The River-Lotus
Reviewer: Lionz_4_the_Cup (Signed)
09/23/2006 08:31 pm
The idea with the bet was really interesting and creative. I can't wait to see what happens! Hehehe. I loved it. :)


Author's Response: Dear Lionz, Thank you so much for writing in to tell me what you thought! I'm afraid you'll have to wait until chapter 19 for the outcome of the bet. It wasn't really my idea - Blaise Zabini's bet with Malfoy is a diabolical parody of Blaise Pascal's famous bet with God. It's all set up so that Blaise can't lose. Regards, GhV



Blaise Zabini's Bet
Reviewer: Lionz_4_the_Cup (Signed)
09/23/2006 08:24 pm
Another great chpater. I think you used 'recess' instead of 'break' in the story somewhere, but it was briliant anyway. :) Going to read more! 

Author's Response:

Dear Lionz, thanks for the review. Actually some British schools do use the term "recess" (mine did), but you're right, we probably borrowed it from the Americans. GhV




A Happy Announcement
You must login (register) to review.