You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
09/21/2007 12:25 pm

I love the different voices and personalities you give to the teachers.  And Lottie's observation that every teacher seems to think his/her classi is most important is so true!

 Love the rivalry and bickering between Lottie and Andrea.



Author's Response: Haha thanks so much! Yeah, after several first days of school, I realized that every teacher is focused on their own subject. I even had a teacher explain why his subject was the only subject that was worth learning! Hah!

Thanks so much for the review!

Eponine



Chapter Five: Alsemore
Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
07/19/2007 10:04 am

I kept being afraid, even though the prologue marked Fornax as a 'good guy,' that somehow this was a trick of the Deatheaters to round up all the Muggleborns.  So when you had them marching to that big building, I thought of the Auschwitz crematoriums. I think it's the way you set your world.  The camps remind me of the internment camps for Japanese-American citizens of WW II or the ghettoes for the Jews in Poland.  So I just had this great dread...  Glad i was wrong.  Good job as usual. 



Author's Response:

Ooh that's an interesting idea. If I hadn't plotted the entire series out already, I'd probably be interested in following that idea somewhere. Oh yay - the ghettos are exactly what I had in mind, actually. Yay!

 Thanks so much for the review!

Eponine 




Chapter Three: Odin Alley
Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
07/19/2007 09:47 am
Rejected by her friends.  I know just how she feels.  And you convey her disappointment and anger well.  I lalso ike that she cherishes this last bit of time at home.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much! Aw, I hope you don't know that feeling too well. But if it was because you're going to a magical school, well then I'm a bit jealous. *Giggles*

Thanks so much for the review!

Eponine 




Chapter Two: The Invitation
Reviewer: VacantSkies (Signed)
07/18/2007 02:35 am

Eponine,

I really like the alternate universe thing you've got going on with this story.  I thought it was a cool touch how you have your characters talking about the Order of the Phoenix so nonchalantly - like it is nothing more than some obscure history fact.  That, to me, seemed very realistic and reflective of the way that many teenagers these days seem to treat history.

I hope to see more!  Keep writing! :)



Author's Response: Ooh thanks so much! I have trouble keeping the perspective of people so far in the future, so I'm glad it's reading!

Thanks so much for the review!

Eponine



Chapter Seventeen: Andrea's Discovery
Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
06/24/2007 12:13 pm
You really know how to set a scene and a mood.  i was dreading the meaning of the red spot and the casual oblique mention of Hagrid's death capped it.  Love the name "Fornax"  like anthrax and foxglove--deadly.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I like Fornax's name too. Hee.

Thank you so much for the review!

Eponine



Prologue
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
08/20/2006 02:06 am
Very good. I'm strongly reminded of the rebellion in Star Wars and the Death Eaters moving like Storm Troopers with Riddle as the Emperor

Author's Response:

Oooh that's an interesting idea! I hadn't even thought of it. I really love Star Wars though, maybe I did it without even noticing. =D

 Thanks for the review!

Ponine 




Chapter One: The Camp
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
08/20/2006 02:03 am
An interesting start! Hagrid's dead, Gwarp kills Greyback.. looks very interesting


Author's Response:

Thank you! Yeah, poor Hagrid didn't make it through the final battle. =(

 

Thanks for the review!

Ponine 




Prologue
Reviewer: Madeline Fabray (Signed)
08/06/2006 01:01 am
Neat, Sorting by talent! I don't think I've ever seen that done. You have some neat ideas!

Author's Response:

Thanks! I thought it'd be sort of bland to do Houses that are just like the Hogwarts ones, so I tried for something different. I'm glad you like it!

 Thanks so much for the reviews!

Ponine 




Chapter Four: The Ivory Table
Reviewer: Madeline Fabray (Signed)
08/06/2006 12:54 am
A health inspection-- I don't think I have ever seen that done in any other fic, but it makes sense. Liked the wand sorting. Any particular reason for that combination of wood. Also, a question: How did Maelioric (or how does he) escape detection from the DE when he goes to get Muggle-born students such as Lottie.

Author's Response:

I'm glad think it does because I couldn't decide whether I wanted to do it or not. I mostly chose the combination because it just reminded me of Lottie. I tried to do stuff with hidden meanings, but I just kept coming back to the combination that I originally thought of. Plus, I think it'd look cool.

Well, I always imagined he'd have a lot of charms around him and stuff. Sort of like putting an unplottable charm on himself. He doesn't stay for long either, and as long as he doesn't do much magic, it'd be hard to find him out of so many people.

Thanks!

Ponine 




Chapter Three: Odin Alley
Reviewer: Madeline Fabray (Signed)
08/06/2006 12:45 am
I really like the friends' reactions to Lottie's news -- it is very believable that they would think her deceived or mad. Would have liked to have seen more of the parents' reactions. By the way, was the name Alsemore inspired by anything? Just curious.

Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked it! It was hard to get across right. You'll see a bit more about her parents in a while... well a long while, but they pop up eventually. ^^;;;

 

Thanks for the review!

Ponine 




Chapter Two: The Invitation
You must login (register) to review.