You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
05/06/2007 09:58 am

Ah, the dogstar, ubiquitous source of malevolent--or at least mischievous--energy.  An energetic, florid description of the hatching.  I love the images, especially:

Pulsations press and squeeze.
Overhead Sirius throbs.
The egg splits.

...the Chamber rumbles awake...

A rabbit...shudders and falls,
soft fur blending into brown earth.

 ...hollow rusting pipes...  

Thanks. 



Author's Response: Spiderwort - Thanks so much for taking the time to let me know the specific imagery that particularly impacted you.  Yes, the Dog Star can create quite a bit of havoc, particularly in the forest!  GaiaR



The Hatchling
Reviewer: fluorite (Anonymous)
10/30/2006 06:15 pm
Nicely done.  Good touch with Myrtle.



The Hatchling
Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
08/23/2006 07:46 am
I agree with Snotori.  In the words of O. Twist: Please sir--I mean ma'am--I want some more!

Author's Response:

Thanks for your feedback on "Sirius Rising" - I'm very happy you found it creepingly enjoyable and liked the description of the tombstones.

I was inspired by the Cheshire Cat when I wrote about the Grim disappearing bit-by-bit, leaving only his teeth/fangs behind, before poofing out completely.  It's always good to leave a bit of mystery behind, I think - at least in the Forbidden Forest, heh heh. . .    Gaia

 




Sirius Rising
Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
08/23/2006 07:43 am

Ooh, now you're giving me the heebiejeebies. 

I absolutely adore your description of the overgrowth:

'mosses and lichens
whose subtle colours creep across the stones, claiming them'--Yum-yum!

All your poems are open-ended, leave questions behind--as good poetry will.




Sirius Rising
Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
08/23/2006 07:38 am

Oh, delightful!  Makes the forest no less intimidating, but a place of adventure where many a treasure may hide.

I chuckled at your dry aside in the middle of heady descriptors: 'Astral Travel Powder--*Use sparingly*'.



Author's Response:

I had fun writing this Snape poem - one can never be quite sure what he's up to and what secrets he may be hiding.  Yes, one must be quite diligent about not overdoing the Astral Travel Powder. The mind boggles at what may happen as the result of an overdose - accidental or otherwise!

Thanks for the review!  Gaia




Astral Flight
Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
08/23/2006 07:32 am

Nature's detritus--evocative and haunting.  It made me a little sad, a little scared, but hopeful of the dawn. Who are the Watchers, I wonder?

Loved it, Nancy.



Author's Response:

You know, I don't really know who the "Watchers" are either, but they seemed to insert their mysterious presence in this poem.  Perhaps they are some kind of invisible forest guardian spirits.  I think I'll have to explore this idea further, perhaps in a future poem.

Thanks for your encouragement to keep on the poetic path, Gaia




Night Visions
Reviewer: Snotori (Anonymous)
06/17/2006 11:12 am

A wonderful beginning.




Night Visions
Reviewer: Snotori (Anonymous)
06/17/2006 11:12 am
WOW... is there more?

Author's Response:

I'm hoping to continue to add more poems to this collection as inspiration moves my creative energy.  Thanks for your appreciation of my work!

In Spirit, Gaia




Sirius Rising
Reviewer: Snotori (Anonymous)
06/17/2006 11:10 am

Cool, next part!




Astral Flight
Reviewer: Jerry McClurg (Anonymous)
06/14/2006 06:55 pm

Nancy, I like your new poem!

 Jerry



Author's Response: Thanks very much for the compliment!



Sirius Rising
You must login (register) to review.