Reviews For The Power of Love

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Muggle Witch (Signed)
06/03/2005 11:40 pm
Yeah, yeah; I know I just said all of this on another site, butů This is a great bridge chapter to the next story: Love Will Save Us. The last line is great. You have such a way with works, and the way the characters talk. You really seem to be able to bring to 'paper' what they are feeling, and what they are going through. Your story LLS really does hit close home for me, and I commend you for bring issues like that the attention of your readers. You are always able to show the emotions so true to life. You also have a knack for drawing us in, and making sure everything is great, then...BAM! you hit us with some big cliffie or something like that. You really are a talented writer, and one of my favourites. Ok, I guess I have rambled on about this story and all of the others long enough. I have really enjoyed being your beta on this story, and hope to work again with you real soon! 'Til next time, Sally


From This Moment
Reviewer: garethy (Anonymous)
05/21/2005 06:41 am
wow, these are really good chapters. can't w8 for the next ones and to find out what happens next. 5 star and 10/10 :)


Harry's Return
Reviewer: Muggle Witch (Signed)
05/18/2005 01:06 pm
What a fun chapter. I liked the trio being hit with the calming spell. The dance was fun as well. I eagerly await your take on the final battle.


Hero
Reviewer: AberforthsAvatar (Signed)
05/16/2005 04:39 pm
OK, let me mention two things right off: it was quiet on th etrain, not quite; and Mr. Malfoy's given name is Lucius, not Lucios. Please consider using a good proofreader to help with your chapters. Details again: did they stop the train so Dumbledore could Apparate to it, and away with Ginny to Madame Pomfrey? And Madame P letting Ginny out of hospital is a bit of a stretch! That said, this was a very good chapter. The bit with Ginny's emotions taking her back to the Chamber and her First year was wonderful. It was completely in character and believable. The actions of Seamus, Lavender, and Luna were very well done. And Harry's care for Ginny in the last scene was very sweet.


Bending The Rules
Reviewer: AberforthsAvatar (Signed)
05/16/2005 04:24 pm
Sorry to take a while getting to the next chapter. I found this chapter a bit of a mixed bag. I liked the by-play in the Prefects' meeting before the arrival of the new Head Girl and Boy -- nice job of letting some of the peripheral characters advance the story. Also, Ginny bristling at Harry's worry was a nice touch, very in character. However, I had a problem with some of the details. How was Ginny's scream heard through the Silencing Charm, for example? How did Lucius (you mis-spelled his name the first time, by the way) get onto the train? Could he have Apparated away once discovered? If not, why not? If he could have, why didn't he? There were a couple of other details that just seemed off. The creativity remains strong, though.


Letters and Death Eaters
Reviewer: Lourdes, WizardTales staff (Anonymous)
05/15/2005 04:27 pm
If there were bars on the window, how did Hera get in? Still, when you think the Dursleys could not go any lower, they'd do something like this renovation. They really should be prosecuted for child abuse and cruelty. Thank goodness for Ginny. I am puzzled, however. How about the blood protection that Petunia provides? I am surprised that Dumbledore did not provide some cover while Ginny went to rescue Harry.


Hurricane Ginny
Reviewer: AberforthsAvatar (Signed)
05/13/2005 09:44 pm
I liked this chapter a lot. It has a nice internal pace, a lot smoother than the first chapters. The overall tone is very sweet. It's nice to see your Ron and Hermione so comfortable with each other. I feel a bit sad to see The Burrow lose its original character, but it's nice to see the Weasleys gain some material comforts. I sensed that you are setting the table a bit for upcoming chapters.


Times of Change
Reviewer: AberforthsAvatar (Signed)
05/12/2005 10:00 pm
Having Harry help Ginny with the dream was a very effective scene. The emotional content was pitched just right, both for Harry and the Weasleys. I liked Ron's letter as well. It was a nice way to get a bit more back story in, and the tone was spot on. I'm not sure about the whole Ministry succession plot line here. JKR has said that there will be a new Minister in Harry's sixth year, yet you've kept Fudge in office until now. I'll reserve further comment until I see where this plot thread is going, but it feels a bit odd. Still, there's much to like in this chapter.

Author's Response: Yeah, I was concerned about that too, but read on I promise it gets better.



A New Minister of Magic
Reviewer: AberforthsAvatar (Signed)
05/12/2005 09:49 pm
I thought teh scen with Arthur watching Harry and Ginny was very well done. The dialog rang true-to-life, and the description from Harry about Ginny's signal as a Seeker was very in character for him. Arthur's quiet enjoyment of their conversation was fully in character as well.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked that chapter. It was one of my favorites to write. I'm glad that it was in character.



Back To The Burrow
Reviewer: AberforthsAvatar (Signed)
05/12/2005 09:40 pm
I like the idea of Ginny as a force of nature. You captured that aspect of her very well. I've long thought that there's a fierceness to her personality -- that comes through in your treatment of her. Well done! I liked the story very much, but I'm going to spend a bit of time on some problems I saw, so bear with me. For a first chapter of a seventh-year fic, I felt that there were details missing about sixth year. You've given us the shipping news, but little else. I'll have to read more, I guess. The tone of the writing struck me as a bit naive, somewhat like a Grandma Moses painting. A bit primitive, but definitely not simple. If you were trying for that effect, you succeeded. I thought Harry a bit passive here, although admittedly, the chapter's focus was on Ginny. You might want to play with some scenes from her point of view. You have a good feel for her, I think. I found some of the grammar a bit distracting. The creativity is excellent, but the grammar needs more attention to detail. Overall, I like the story and will definitely read further.

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks so much for the feedback. I'm glad you like my work!



Hurricane Ginny
You must login (register) to review.