Reviews For Reign O'er Me

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: MuggleMomma (Signed)
07/12/2005 11:16 am
Yay, Ginny! Whoop and holler! Go, Flamel! Go, Molly! You got yours, Voldie! I love this story! What in the He** took me so long to get to it??? Fraid you are going to have to wait for chapter 28, Charles.


Chapter 03: The Kids Are Alright
Reviewer: MuggleMomma (Signed)
07/12/2005 10:45 am
Evil, evil cliffie. It is one that is used throughout fandom, and actually in TGP as well, but you wrote it superbly. I loved the interaction btween Molly and Ginny, and I loved getting inside Mollly's head about Ginny's outfit. Another great chapter!!


Chapter 02: Pure and Easy
Reviewer: MuggleMomma (Signed)
07/12/2005 03:45 am
I like where you are going with this story. The letter from Sirius was wonderful, and Harry's agonizing over Ginny, as well as Remus' hopes to set them up according to Sirius' wishes, were perfectly written. I have no criticisms thus far. :) 10/10!


Chapter 01: How Can You Do It Alone?
Reviewer: MuggleMomma (Signed)
07/12/2005 02:46 am
Charles, I can't believe I took so long to get to this story. This is one of the most creative, not to mention well-written, first chapters I have ever read! I'm off to read some more. I love your take on Flamel, by the way, and the idea of Dumbledore as student.


Prologue: Circles
Reviewer: Dana (Signed)
07/05/2005 03:29 pm
Wow Charles...I mean it...WOW!!! THat was incredible. I don't know why I didn't read this sooner. I really liked your writing and just the whole thing....Spectacular Job


Prologue: Circles
Reviewer: Dianne (Signed)
06/27/2005 05:04 am
I am left nearly speechless, which is strange for me. First of all, let me compliment you on your flawless grammar and spelling! I absolutely loved Nicholas Flammel Apparating into the grounds as natural as anything and the way he carried on with Minerva was priceless. The history in this chapter alone was enough to grab me and captivate me to read more. To think that Nicholas likens Dumbledore to Harry. I never thought about that before but it makes perfect sense. For the first time ever, a fic has made me try to picture Dumbledore as a young man, and then to read that Nicholas, for his part, was mentored by Gryffindor himself, blew me away...all the way down to Merlin himself. It is five in the morning now, so I am going to read more later for sure, as I'm totally hooked on this story. Such detail I have never seen, and yet the chapter is not overly long. I envy your ability to fit everything into a chapter nicely without too much filler. This is definitely a ten!!!! Also, Snape was so in character! Does nothing impress that man? I can see that snape is in for some humilation...but let's hope he learns something along the way. I'm so impressed!


Prologue: Circles
Reviewer: Billie Bowtrunckle (Signed)
06/25/2005 12:55 pm
It was very clever to have Sirius write letters to G/H/R/L as well as Harry. It seemed appropriate that Siruis decided to take this upon himself to reveal the prophecy to only Ginny (it certainly gives her a unique and important role in Harry's life now) - very wreckless but well-meaning. I think that Sirius was always a little blinded by his love for Harry and his duty to James/Lily to really be able to assess anything that had to do with him objectively and this fits Sirius perfectly. Another wonderfully written letter! There are a couple of comments that I have (I only bother to write them when I really like a fic, so forgive me). I think it would've added to your interpretation of Ginny's character if we saw her reaction after reading the letter. Up to that point, we really don't have much from you about Ginny other than what Sirius thinks. Because you seem to have a knack for characterization, I really would've liked to see what you think of her character directly (I'm one of those people who need to 'bond' with the characters). Also, what's up with Dean? You mentioned that Harry thinks that she was just trying to get a rise of Ron, but I think the Dean status needs to be made clear to the readers from Ginny herself before the H/G 'action' begins. Lastly, I know that you are trying to move your story along, but it seems a bit pre-mature (to me, at least) to have H/G discussing their future and how they're going to break the news of their relationship before they kiss. You must have a really good beta because I haven't noticed anything except that you may want to remove the quotation marks around the portions that reflect Harry thoughts and italicize them to distinguish them from spoken dialogue. BTW, Is this a romance fic?!

Author's Response: One thing that may help is causality is intentionally being warped here. Cause does not necessarily come before effect. This is not, per se, a romance fic, though the early chapters do have a lot of romantic elements, but these are almost backstory... but needed to set the stage.



Chapter 02: Pure and Easy
Reviewer: Billie Bowtrunckle (Signed)
06/25/2005 12:05 pm
Alright, lots of good information relayed in this chapter. You certainly know how to cover ground effectively. Based on the angsty references to Harry in the prologue, the positive turn of events caught my by surprise - suddenly everything is looking up (180 degree turn of events). Not that I don't think Harry deserves it, but the tone established in the Prologue (to me) suggests something different. Sirius's letter was well done and a good way to just address all those issues quickly and move on with the story. However, I wonder about Harry's emotional maturity...he seems very insightful here. I'm not sure he would reach all of these conclusions so quickly or process and accept the contents of Sirius's letter in an afternoon. However, I see here that you are tidying up the backstory in preparation for your story...

Author's Response: At this point in the storyline, there are several things happening that are hinted at here and there, but no more than that. Harry is insightful, at least when he's firing on all cylinders - he'd have never gotten through his first four years if he were not. Certainly since the end of the fourth year, his vision has been clouded, but it's time for that to stop, even if it requires a bit of tampering behind the scenes.



Chapter 01: How Can You Do It Alone?
Reviewer: Billie Bowtrunckle (Signed)
06/25/2005 11:32 am
WOW! Wow! wow! It's not often that I find a fic that leaves me scrambling to write down all of my comments because there are so many. Where to start? First of all, I like how you set your story apart from so many others by starting it with McGonagall at the END of the OoTP. It was really nice to see that you took the time to maintain continuity with the book and included little details such as McGonagall's cane and Dumbledore fixing those little spindle-legged gagets in his office. Those sort of things (I think) really distinguish excellent fics from the rest. Another thing that immediately drew me in was how well thought-out your story appears to be as you anticipated the readers questions and immediately dispelled any wariness by using the Phoenix to ID Flamel. This kind of sublty is something that I don't find often. Your characterization of Flamel is engaging; establishing the lineage of magic with Dumbledore/him/Gryffindor/Merlin early on gives us something to root his character - something that we can identify with (at least Gryffindor) and paints a rich history that is so like JKR. I'm already interested in hearing more about him and this is just the Prologue. His exchange with Snape was very well done and just oozed tension. I think you've done a spectacular job with Flamel and setting 'the chess board' for some interesting character interactions. I really hope that the rest of your story carries the momentum you have established here. Just one thing that perhaps you are going to address later on: Gryffindor would have to be a really old wizard (~330 + yrs) in order to mentor Flamel based on Flamel's B-day and the ~date of the Foundation of Hogwarts. Anyway, EXCELLENT Prologue! I'm off to read chpt. 1.

Author's Response: As the story unfolds, you get additional bits of backstory on the line of wizards before Dumbledore. You will find that quite a bit of backstory, based on the historical record, is included on both Nicholas Flamel, and his wife, Perenelle.



Prologue: Circles
Reviewer: MuggleMomma (Signed)
06/20/2005 04:22 pm
Quiero el cuento su tan lejos. ¡Escriba unos más, por favor!


Prologue: Circles
You must login (register) to review.