Reviews For Portraits Of War

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
06/09/2007 10:48 pm

Ooh, creepy and so... er... possible.  Floating in the void with other 'bodies'.  I like the idea that he keeps centering on the thought of Peter Pettigrew's escape and on James and Lily.  And cool that it is James and Lily--right?--that show him the way back.

Maybe something like this will happen in Book Seven.




Black Eternity
Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
06/09/2007 10:40 pm
I especially like how Minerva sees Albus, and the phoenix references.


Sherbet Lemon
Reviewer: tonkslupin74 (Signed)
09/14/2006 09:56 am
I love this story I have one similar to this. Yours is way better than mine though. It is exceptionally well written and I loved your writing style so much that I have added most of your stories to my favorites. Can't wait to read more of your stuff and hope that you continue to write.


Sherbet Lemon
Reviewer: Spiderwort (Signed)
09/09/2006 11:37 am

Oh, this is good!  I like this Sirius.

Love how Mrs. Black actually thinks she can subvert the Sorting and have Sirius put in Slytherin.

And your choice of names: 'Malevala Nott' and 'Finn Potter.'  Yum!

 Mrs. Potter is rarely dscribed in fan-fic.  I like your version of James' mum--er--mother. (Yes, that fits her better.)

Favorite lines, because they reveal a lot about the character in a short bit:

..he rather liked Lily himself.

"Your blood-traitor Gryffindor brother can do it right, so why can't you?...Get to your spell books, boy!"

"I'm not like my family, ma'am..."

"Dear old Mum's finally flipped..."

Thanks for a great read.  I hope to read more of these soon.




Always Pure
Reviewer: SurryPotter (Signed)
08/19/2006 05:55 pm
What a terrific story. You really showed the angst in Black well. You showed wonderful traits in Mrs. Potter. This is a fun little read. Well Done!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad everyone's enjoying this one so much.



Always Pure
Reviewer: Calamur (Signed)
08/19/2006 01:52 pm
Hehehe. I love this fic. Very well written. You wrote Sirius really well

Author's Response: Thanks a lot. I enjoyed writing this one. Sirius is probably my absolute favorite character from the books and I like thinking about where he came from.



Always Pure
Reviewer: ladylarna (Signed)
08/07/2006 07:47 pm

This is the most attention I've ever seen given to her. This had serious depth. Loved:

Run away, Potter, she thought to herself. Get out of this mess while you can.

That, and:

"He's the only help he has."

Marvelous. Love the writing style. The last line felt lacking, though, and sort of ruined the rest of the flow. But, if it's supposed to be part of a series, maybe that's necessary. Still, in this context, the ending felt chopped short. But this is really good, fantastic writing.



Author's Response: Thank you. I've seen a good character sketch of McGonagall written by someone else--and I'm convinced it's better than mine--and if I could remember who wrote it, I'd tell you. Anyway, thanks for the good review. I see what you're saying about the ending, but I did it that way because I wanted to make it clear that the Headmistress is really on her own now...she's no longer the Deputy and she's no longer the Transfiguration teacher. She has to take hold of her duties and handle things responsibly. I wanted Dumbledore to give her one last bit of needed advice to let her know she's ready and that she can do it, no matter how lost she feels. So when she looks up at that moment, she sees he is asleep and will know that it's up to her now to continue where he left off in the education of wizarding children, and he can't be of help to her anymore.



Sherbet Lemon
Reviewer: ladylarna (Signed)
08/07/2006 07:42 pm

Yeah, so this is brilliant. Seriously. Love. Your writing style... reading this, you can just feel the depth. This oozes with personality, love love love.

"You know what they say, don't you?" James asked. "Always pure. I think once you're a Black, you're rather stuck that way."

Brilliant. Just marvelous. I adore your phrasing (though, at one point - I think discussing betrothal? - Sirius said something and you wrote "Sirius retorted" and 'retorted' didn't feel like the proper word).

But I love it. Keep it up, truly.



Author's Response: Thank you...I have a real soft spot for Sirius and I like to think about his roots--where he came from emotionally and the events in his young life that led him to be a Gryffindor instead of following the family standard. I think he's an amazing character with more depth than most of them she's written because he's got a rather explosive history. Anyway, this was an easy write...I guess it's how I always pictured his home life.



Always Pure
Reviewer: pengwand (Signed)
08/07/2006 11:08 am
It has a very warm feel, which is very different from where it started. And it's something I can relate too. Between this and talking about moving, I'm rather teary at the moment. Beautiful story.


Always Pure
Reviewer: pengwand (Signed)
08/06/2006 12:39 pm
This.. has to be the best piece of yours that I've read. I mean that. There is a lot of heart in here, and you don't find that often in any type of fiction. Absolutely beautiful.


Sherbet Lemon
No results found.
You must login (register) to review.